21 July 2018 - Matariki Starlight Jazz Concert @ Holy Trinity Cathedral

21 July 2018 - Matariki Starlight Jazz Concert @ Holy Trinity Cathedral
Cnr Parnell Rd & St Stephen's Ave

Ticketing & Entry

Adults/Seniors: $35.00
Students (with ID): $25.00
Child 12 years under: $15.00
All Ages

‘Matariki Starlight Jazz Concert’ is being presented to you as part of Auckland’s Matariki Festival 2018 programme of events.

Its purpose is to help raise funds towards supporting the development and organization of a ‘bigger picture’ cause " Wahine Walk for Wellness " Footsteps supporting the ripple effects of mental wellness, a walk for our Nation designed to help raise funds to further support existing, or to create new support networks within Communities that enable the ‘Caretakers’ of the mentally unwell to reach out and connect, draw strength from, and support others who are walking a similar journey.

Matariki Starlight Jazz Concert blends both Pakeha and Māori artists together in an exciting programme of music sung in Te Reo Māori and English. Every artist featured in the concert has donated their time for the cause. Each has their own experience related to mental unwellness to some degree.

Head-lining the Matariki Starlight Jazz concert is Whirimako Black.

Whirimako has performed all around the world on numerous projects including the internationally successful One Giant Leap Album which celebrates cultural diversity.

She has produced numerous solo albums, has featured on numerous collaboration albums alongside some of world music’s biggest names. In recent years she has moved effortlessly into the jazz genre performing great jazz standards in her own unique and sultry style and Māori interpretation.

She is an award winning songwriter and artist having achieved Best Māori Album and Best Jazz Album at the NZ Music Awards and a coveted Silver Scroll award in song writing for Best Māori Composition.

Other Artists include:
Allana Goldsmith - Makareta Umbers - June Hayes - Julie Mason - Phil Broadhurst - Maria O'Flaherty - Denis Hepi.

Support Musicians: Kelly Kahukiwa - Neil Williamson - Ben Fernandez - Kevin Field - Ron Samsom - Olivier Holland - Aaron Coddel.